Tectonic units 1:10 000 000

The digital '1:10 000 000 tectonic units of Western Australia, 2016' has been compiled by rolling up and simplifying from the digital '1:500 000 tectonic units of Western Australia, 2015' for optimal display at 1:10 000 000 scale. For the offshore component, the map uses data and divisions from the Geoscience Australia ‘Australian Geological Provinces’ GIS dataset, with polygons adjusted to match seamlessly into the onshore tectonic elements. The nomenclature and hierarchy for the tectonic units are based on the GSWA Explanatory Notes System (February 2016). This digital layer is designed to outline tectonic units at the highest levels within the tectonic hierarchy; that is, to delineate the areal extent of cratons, orogens, and basins. Magmatic units defining large igneous provinces (LIPs) are represented on a companion layer, the '1:10 000 000 large igneous provinces of Western Australia, 2016'. Polygons on this map represent the present-day area of tectonic units, without inference on their original extent, although some units are extended below younger cover where constraints are known. However, the extent of Proterozoic orogens is not shown under cover or in offshore areas.

Access & Use Information
This dataset is available for use by everyone
Data Access Statement

licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution 4.0 International licence

Data and Resources

Additional Info

Field Value
Data Portal http://www.dmp.wa.gov.au/datacentre
Data Homepage
Author Chief Geoscientist
Maintainer Darren Wallace
Theme Natural Resources
Geospatial Theme Industry and Mining
Published on
Data last updated on
Update Frequency unknown
Temporal coverage from
Temporal coverage to
Digital Object Identifier
Geospatial Source Projection GDA94
Dataset Coverage

Dataset extent

Map data © OpenStreetMap contributors
Tiles by MapBox
comments powered by Disqus