Skip to main content

Regional Development Commissions of WA

Regional Development Commissions are established under Part 2 of the Regional Development Commissions Act 1993. Regional Development Commissions broad objectives are to improve and enhance the economic and social development of Western Australia’s 9 Regional Development Commission Regions:

• Gascoyne Development Commission
• Goldfields-Esperance Development Commission
• Great Southern Development Commission
• Kimberley Development Commission
• Mid West Development Commission
• Peel Development Commission
• Pilbara Development Commission
• South West Development Commission
• Wheatbelt Development Commission

Primary legislated functions of Commissions under Part 2 of the Act are to:

• Maximize job creation and improve career opportunities in the region.
• Develop and broaden the economic base of the region.
• Identify infrastructure services to promote economic and social development within the region.
• Provide information and advice to promote business development within the region.
• Seek to ensure that the general standard of government services and access to those services in the region is comparable to that which applies in the metropolitan area.
• Generally take steps to encourage, promote, facilitate and monitor the economic development in the region.

To achieve the above functions, Commissions are to:

• Promote the Regions.
• Facilitate coordination between relevant statutory bodies and State government agencies.
• Cooperate with representatives of industry and commerce, employer and employee organizations, education and training institutions and other sections of the community within the region.
• Identify the opportunities for investment in the region and encourage that investment.
• Identify the infrastructure needs of the region, and encourage the provision of that infrastructure in the region. Cooperate with departments of the Public Service of the State and the Commonwealth, and other agencies, instrumentalities and statutory bodies of the State and the Commonwealth; and local governments, in order to promote equitable delivery of services within the region.